Tales from DayZ – The Karma Of Death

Well I’m on survivor #3 in DayZ, but this was an interesting story of karma. I didn’t record any video so I’ll make this quick. I was in Svetlo and I’d finally gotten kitted up. I was so kitted up that I was hesitant to log back into DayZ to play because I wanted to enjoy my accomplishment of going from near death survivor in the middle of no where to being armed with supplies and weapons in a major city.

I logged in anyway thinking that if I die, I’ll just respawn and try again, I’ve come to grips with the possibility of having to respawn because I heard it happens often. So I decided to loot this tall building in Svetlo and once I entered the second floor I could hear footsteps behind me. I decided to close the door and aim at the doorway in case someone entered. Last time I trusted someone I was knocked unconcious while I was bandaging up. I wasn’t about to allow this to happen again.

After a while of no action, I decided to venture out the door and go further up the stairs for a better vantage point. As I excited the room, mere seconds later someone almost past me to enter the room. I whirled around and let out a shot. In DayZ, gunshots are rare to hear because they attract zombies so when I shot my SKS it seemed like the whole town heard it. I heard gunshots in the distance and guessed that they thought someone was shooting at them. The player I shot at definitely noticed it, he didn’t exit the room, in fact he closed the door and tried to wait me out.

I sat there on the stairs aiming down my gun sights for seemed like 2 minutes then the door slowly opened, when he peeked around the corner I opened fire. He fell instantly, I didn’t move thinking back up was coming any minute. When they didn’t come I looted what I could from his body and logged out. I’m a newb, I wasn’t taking any chances.

My victory didn’t last long, when I logged back in to check what I’d looted from the fallen player, I discovered that I’d shot up all the gear I could have used. Everything was ruined. I was, however, able to save the sniper rifle he was carrying so I equipped that and exited the room. When I got to the first floor I encountered another player. I was feeling bad about killing that other player unprovoked so I tried to strike up a truce. “I’m friendly” I yelled at the player and walk to the top floor to demonstrate I meant no harm. I waited to see if he would exit, instead he followed me to the top floor, uttered “Fuck You” and shot me in the head. RIP survivor #3.

 

 

Leave a Reply

